Low Self-Esteem

5th grade: Bobbie heads to the Teen Center to hang out. As she’s about to open the door, she notices that the most popular, gorgeous boy in her class/school is about to approach her. She immediately opens the door for him and smiles like a goofball. As he steps out, he says with a disgusted look on his face, “Get out of my way you ugly, flat-faced Korean!” She’s devastated, and when she gets home…she stares into the mirror for a while and thinks to herself, “I really am ugly. No wonder no one asked me out to the Valentine’s Dance. The only reason my family says I’m pretty is because they love me.”

~ by Bobbie on November 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
